In 1967, Sherbrooke is preparing to host the World Water Ski Championships. For the occasion, Sherbrooke built the Armand-Nadeau pavilion on the edge of the Lac des Nations. A young Sherbrookois, Jean Perrault, then a member of the National Water Ski Team, participated in this major competition.

The following summer, the young addict to waterskiing proposed to Mayor to borrow the infrastructure left by the World Championships to make water skiing accessible to the people of Sherbrooke. The offer was accepted and Jean Perrault founded the water ski school bearing his name.

Jean Perrault

Pour une 49e saison consécutive, Jean Perrault water ski school pursues the objective proposed by is founder : Make accessible, by its location and affordable rates, waterskiing to Sherbrooke's population. Each summer, it is almost 500 skiers or wakeboarders who enjoy the services of this school, "One of the oldest water ski school still in operation in the world" (source : Water Ski and Wakeboard Canada).

Through the years, this nonprofit organization organized several major events related to water ski with another World Championship, a World Junior Championship, Canadian Championships, the Eastern Canadian Championships ... Jean Perrault water ski school is also the origin of the Lac des Nations Festival .

Through his competition club, Jean Perrault water ski school has also allowed many local athletes to perform in water skiing and wakeboarding on the national and international scene.

En 1967, la ville de Sherbrooke se préparait à accueillir les Championnats du Monde de ski nautique. Pour l’occasion, la ville de Sherbrooke construisit le pavillon Armand-Nadeau sur le bord du Lac des Nations. Un jeune Sherbrookois, Jean Perrault, alors membre de l’équipe nationale de ski nautique, participait à cette compétition d’envergure.

L’été suivant, ce jeune mordu de ski nautique proposa au maire de la ville d’emprunter les infrastructures laissées par les Championnats du Monde afin de rendre le ski nautique accessible à la population sherbrookoise. L’offre fut acceptée et Jean Perrault fonda l’école de ski nautique portant son nom.

Jean Perrault

Pour une 49e saison consécutive, l’école de ski nautique Jean-Perrault poursuit l’objectif proposé par son fondateur : Rendre accessible, par sa situation géographique et par ses tarifs abordables, le ski nautique à la population sherbrookoise. À chaque été, c’est près de 500 skieurs ou wakeboarders qui profitent des services de cette école, « une des plus anciennes école de ski nautique encore en fonction au monde » (source : Water Ski and Wakeboard Canada).

À travers les années, cet organisme à but non lucratif a organisé plusieurs grands évènements reliés au ski nautique dont un autre Championnat du Monde, un Championnat du Monde Junior, des Championnats Canadiens, des Championnats de l’Est du Canada… L’école de ski nautique Jean-Perrault est aussi à l’origine de La Fête du Lac des Nations.

À travers son club de compétition, l’école de ski nautique Jean-Perrault a également permis à plusieurs athlètes de la région de performer en ski nautique et en wakeboard sur les scènes nationale et internationale.