Classical disciplines

The classic skiing consists of three disciplines: Slalom, Figures and jumping. During a competition, a skier may choose to participate in one or more of these disciplines. A skier who chose to participate in all disciplines is assigned a score for the combined disciplines plus a note for individual disciplines.

Slalom

The slalom discipline is to conduct a course on a mono-ski . The course with a total length of 259 meters consists of different colored buoys delimiting the passage of the boat and the skier. The skier must pass through two balloons defining a gateway. Thereafter, he performs 6 turns around balloons distributed diagonally on both sides of the path of the boat, and finally through an exit defined by two balloons. To be considered a successful course, the skier must have passed through the two doors, entry and exit and completed his turn around the 6 skier balls.
Slalom course

The slalom course is done at a maximum speed of the boat of 58km / h for men and 54km / h for women. The starting length for a slalom rope is 18.25m. When a skier successful passage through the course at the maximum speed of his category, the rope is shortened. She then goes to 16 m and 14,25 m, 13 m, 12 m, 11,25 m and then by fraction of 0,50 m.

Figures

Ski de figures
Competition, the event of figure skiing consist of two pass of 20 seconds each. The skier must make the maximum possible figures during this period of time. A score is allocated to each successful figures done by the skier according to the degree of difficulty. There are several different figures with scores ranging from 20 to 1000 points. Amongst them the 180, 360°, the passage of a foot over the rope and the double somersault. These figures may be performed in three different ways, either two ski, on a ski rope in hand or on a ski holding the rope with a foot.

The ski for the figures is smaller than a conventional ski and does not have drift. It is therefore easier to slide laterally on the ski and make skids.

The jump

The jumping discipline is to perform the longest possible jump. Of the three classic disciplines, it is the most extreme and spectacular. The Canadian Jaret Llewellyn is currently the world champion.

The jump is done on a pair of skis specially designer for this discipline. The skier, towed by the boat swings at a platform length 6.40m to 6.70m from the water and a height from 1.50m to 1.80m. The maximum boat speed is 51km / h for women and can reach 57km / h for men. Some skiers can reach distances of nearly 90m (300 feet).

Among the equipments of the jumper we also find a safety helmet and a padded thermal combination.

For more information on the regulations of the disciplines you can view the regulations 2013 Ski and Wakeboard Canada

Disciplines classiques

Le ski nautique classique se compose de trois disciplines: le slalom, les figures et le saut.  Au cours d’une compétition, un skieur peut choisir de participer à l’une ou plusieurs de ces disciplines.  Un skieur ayant choisi de participer à toutes les disciplines se voit attribuer une note pour le combiné des disciplines en plus d’une note pour les disciplines individuelles.

Le slalom

La discipline du slalom consiste à effectuer un parcours sur un mono-ski .  Le parcours d’une longueur total de 259 mètres est constitué de bouées de différentes couleurs délimitant le passage du bateau et du skieur.  Le skieur doit passer au travers deux ballons délimitant une porte d’entrée.  Par la suite, il effectue 6 virages autour de ballons distribués en diagonales de part et d’autre du chemin du bateau et finalement passer par une porte de sortie délimité par deux autres ballons.  Pour être considéré comme un parcours réussis, le skieur doit avoir passer au travers les deux portes d’entrée et sortie et complété son virage autours des 6 ballons de skieur.
Parcours de slalom

Le parcours de slalom s’effectue à une vitesse maximale du bateau de 58km/h pour les hommes et de 54km/h pour les femmes.  La longueur de départ pour une corde de slalom est de 18.25m.  Lorsqu’un skieur réussis son passage dans le parcours à la vitesse maximale de ça catégorie, la corde est raccourcie.  Elle passe alors à 16 m puis 14,25 m, 13 m, 12 m, 11,25 m et ensuite par fraction de 0,50 m.

Les figures

Ski de figures
En compétition, l’épreuve du ski de figure consiste à effectuer deux parcours de 20 secondes chacun.  Le skieur doit alors effectuer le maximum de figures possibles durant cette période de temps.  Un pointage est alloué pour chacune des figures réussis par le skieur selon le degré de difficulté de celle-ci.  Il existe plusieurs figures différentes ayant des notes allant de 20 à 1000points.  On compte parmi elle le 180°, 360°, le passage d’un pied par-dessus la corde et la plus payante de tous le double saut périlleux.  Ces figures peuvent être effectués de trois façon différentes, soit sur deux ski, sur un ski corde en main ou sur un ski corde au pied.

Le ski pour les figures est plus petit qu’un ski traditionnel et ne possède pas de dérive.  Il est donc plus facile de glisser latéralement sur le ski et d’effectuer des dérapages.

Le saut

La discipline du saut consiste à effectuer un saut le plus long possible.  Des trois disciplines classique, il s’agit de la plus extrême et spectaculaire.  Le canadien Jaret Llewellyn en est présentement le champion du monde.

Le saut s’effectue sur une paire de ski spécialement designer pour cette discipline.  Le skieur, tracté par le bateau s’élance sur un tremplin d’une longueur 6.40m à 6.70m hors de l’eau et d’une hauteur allant de 1.50m à 1.80m.  La vitesse maximale du bateau est de 51km/h pour les femmes et peut atteindre 57km/h pour les hommes.  Certains skieurs peuvent atteindre des distances de près de 90m (300 pieds).

Parmi les équipements du sauteur on retrouve également un casque de sécurité et une combinaison thermique cousinée.

Pour plus d’information sur les règlements de ces disciplines vous pouvez consulter les règlements 2013 de Ski et planche Canada